Join us for an unforgettable evening celebrating when we learn together at the 2022 Innovative Learning Awards!

Please join us in celebration as we come together for the first time in two years for a memorable evening filled with music, food, drinks, and connection. We invite you to support our work by securing your ticket for the event, becoming a sponsor, or simply making a tax-deductible contribution towards the event.

With your help, we can continue to strengthen learning relationships for more than 200,000 students across the country.

Event Logistics

WHAT: This year’s Innovative Learning Awards will be an extra-special evening as we come together in person for the first time since 2019 to celebrate the successes and resilience of our students, teachers, and families. Reserve your tickets today to enjoy the ambiance and waterfront views, hear from special guests, and so much more!

WHERE:  Current at Chelsea Piers – Pier 59, 23rd Street & West Side Highway, New York, New York

WHEN: The event will start at 6PM ET on Tuesday, May 10th, 2022.

Note: Your safety is our top priority. Attending our event in person requires proof of COVID vaccination OR proof of a negative COVID test result (e.g., PCR or rapid test) taken within 48 hours prior to the event.

Meet Our Honorees

Rhonda Powell

Travis Terry, Community Leadership Award

Travis Terry was named President of Capalino, the largest urban strategy firm in the United States, in November 2020, after serving as the firm’s Chief Operating Officer for nearly a decade. In his role as President, Travis oversees the firm’s operations and execution of its corporate purpose of helping clients succeed in the New York region and playing a key role in spearheading the future of NYC.

Travis is a member of the Board of Directors of the Regional Plan Association, Coro New York, Friends of the QueensWay and is Chair of the NYC Board of Advisors of PowerMyLearning. He also sits on the Steering Committee of the Association for a Better New York (ABNY), the Dean’s Advisory Council of the Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the Executive Leadership Forum of BritishAmerican Business.

Rhonda Powell

Mark Malaspina, Educational Impact Award

As President of PowerMyLearning, Mark has helped guide the organization for more than a decade. With Mark’s support, PowerMyLearning has developed innovative, research-based programs and products; partnered with schools and districts across the country to accelerate student academic success and social-emotional learning; and developed a strong data culture to enable evidence-building and continuous improvement. Mark has played a key role in articulating PowerMyLearning’s program, product, and research strategy externally and internally and has helped the organization secure more than $30M in federal funding. He also has led staff in developing and implementing PowerMyLearning’s organizational values, centered in equity, relationships, humility, and learning.

Event Digital Journal

To learn more about PowerMyLearning’s honorees, explore our impact, and see our sponsors, view our Digital Journal.

2022 Benefit Committee

National Board
Roch Hillenbrand, Chair
Ruth Altchek
Carolyn Blankenship
Carol Cunningham
Michael J. Critelli
Joseph Della Rosa
Gregory Gould
Eric Gural
Rhonda Powell
Jessica Santana
Shruti Sehra
Elisabeth Stock
Christine Winter

New York City Advisory Board
Travis Terry, Chair
Kevin B. Jordan
Brandon Hedvat
Lesley Keefe
Mwanga Mtengule
Michael Poser
Jil Shah
Monica Verma

Event Co-Chairs

Rhonda Powell

Michael J. Critelli, who retired from Pitney Bowes, a global mailstream and e-commerce solutions provider in 2008, has been an industry leader in mailing industry reform and innovation in diversity and inclusion programs, leadership development, transportation and environmental sustainability strategies, education and literacy philanthropy, and workplace-driven health programs. He has been a feature film producer, entrepreneur, philanthropist, and investor in multiple high-tech businesses since his retirement.

Rhonda Powell

Michael Poser is the Chief Information Officer for Enterprise Technology & Risk in Morgan Stanley’s Technology division. Michael has an M.B.A. from the Stern School of Business and a B.S. in computer science and economics from New York University. He is Co-Head of Morgan Stanley’s Technology Diversity Committee and serves on the New York City Board of PowerMyLearning.

Sponsorship Opportunities

All sponsorships support PowerMyLearning’s programs and help us continue to strengthen the triangle of learning relationships between students, families, and teachers nationwide. For questions or additional information, please reach out to Vanessa Kranwinkel at

Learn more about our sponsorship opportunities.

Looking for More Ways to Support Our Work?​

Text “PML” to 269-89 to learn how to make a mobile-friendly, secure donation today or explore more options to support the students, teachers, and families we serve nationwide.

2022 Innovative Learning Award Sponsors
Ellen Flanagan

“Teaching takes everything – my mind, my emotions, my passion, my empathy, my patience… my love. I have to bring it all to the classroom every day and PowerMyLearning has helped me become more effective.”

Mr. Steven
Second Grade Teacher, Former PowerMyLearning Triangle Awardee